| | More

Assembly on Behavioral Science and Health Services Research Early Career Achievement Award

The ATS Assembly on Behavioral Science and Health Services Early Career Achievement Award will be given to the individual who has made the most outstanding scientific contributions relevant to behavioral and social sciences, clinical epidemiology, statistics, health services research, health economics, comparative clinical efficacy and effectiveness research, patient-centered outcomes research, performance measurement, quality improvement, or implementation science. This award is to recognize individuals who have applied these methodologies to lung diseases, critical illness, or sleep disorders early in his or her career. Awardees will be presented with a framed certificate at 2015 ATS International Conference in Denver, CO.


  • Must be at the Assistant Professor level or at an equivalent rank in a nonacademic institution.
  • The nomination package must include a letter from a member of the assembly describing why the award is appropriate 
  • Has not previously received an Early Career ATS Achievement Award
  • The curriculum vitae from the candidate must also be included


Applicants are scored on 5 criteria using a 1-5 rating system across the following categories; summed scores provides a summary overall score:

  • Scientific Contributions/Products
  • Teaching/Mentoring/Educational Contributions
  • Participation in BS/HSR and ATS Activities (Administrative, Committees, Workshops, etc..)
  • Other Considerations from recommendations including relevant extenuating circumstances
  • Overall impact/impression of dossier submitted for award application

Submit Nomination Here

Past Recipients of the Early Career Achievement Award

2014 - Renda S. Wiener, MD, MPH
2013 - Colin Cooke, MD, MSc, MS
2012 - Christopher G. Slatore, MD, MS
2011 - Theodore J. Iwashyna, MD, PhD
2010 - Jeremy Kahn, MSc
2009 - Kristin A. Riekert, PhD
2008 - Jean-Marie Bruzzese, PhD
2007 - Vincent Fan, MD, MPH
2006 - Christopher H. Goss, MD, MSc
2005 - David Au, MD and Michael K. Gould, MD, MS
2004 - Jerry A. Krishnan, MD, PhD
2003 - Lynn B. Gerald, PhD, MSPH