| | More

Assembly on Behavioral Science and Health Services Research Lifetime Achievement Award

The ATS Assembly on Behavioral Science and Health Services Research Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to an individual who has made outstanding scientific contributions or has provided outstanding service relevant to the behavioral or social sciences, clinical epidemiology, statistics, health services research, health economics, comparative clinical efficacy and effectiveness research, patient-centered outcomes research, performance measurement, quality improvement, or implementation science. This award is to recognize individuals who have applied these methodologies to lung diseases, critical illness, or sleep disorders. Awardees will be presented with a framed certificate at the 2015 ATS International Conference in Denver.


  • Nominations must include a cover letter from a member of the assembly describing why the award is appropriate
  • Curriculum vitae for the nominee must also be included
  • Has not previously received a Lifetime ATS Achievement Award


Applicants are scored on 5 criteria using a 1-5 rating system across the following categories; summed scores provides a summary overall score:

  • Scientific Contributions/Products
  • Teaching/Mentoring/Educational Contributions
  • Participation in BS/HSR and ATS Activities (Administrative, Committees, Workshops, etc..)
  • Other Considerations from recommendations including relevant extenuating circumstances
  • Overall impact/impression of dossier submitted for award application

Submit Nomination Here

Past Recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award

2014 - Lynn B. Gerald, PhD, MSPH
2013- William Vollmer, PhD
2012 - David H. Au, MD, MSc
2011 - Marianna Sockrider, MD, PhD
2010 - A. Sonia Buist, MD
2009 - Bruce G. Bender, PhD
2008 - J. Randall Curtis, MD, MPH
2007 - Cynthia S. Rand, PhD
2006 - Sandra R. Wilson, PhD
2005 - David Evans, PhD
2004 - William Bailey, MD
2003 - Noreen M. Clark, PhD