| | More

Assembly on Respiratory Structure and Function Ann Woolcock Memorial Award

It is with great pride and respect that the RSF Assembly announces an annual award honoring the life of the late Ann Woolcock of Sydney University. She was an international leader in the field of asthma in areas of epidemiology, physiology and medicine. We are grateful for the support of GlaxoSmithKline and of the Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand for providing an endowment that will enable this award on an ongoing basis. The award will be restricted to asthma, although any field relevant to asthma is equally acceptable and is not intended for either predoctoral or postdoctoral students or for well-established investigators. It is also not intended as recognition for a single project, but for overall accomplishments and future promise.

The award will consist of $500 and a plaque. The award will be presented at the 2015 ATS International Conference in Denver.

The eligibility criteria have been designed to reflect what we know to be Dr. Woolcock's priorities during her long, prolific career.


  • A young investigator beyond formal training but not yet fully established, from any country and from any ATS Assembly.
  • More than one first authored paper in a first rate journal.
  • Early career accomplishments and future promise.
  • Efforts in the broad area of asthma research. This may include work at the basic, clinical, epidemiological or other levels.
  • The award will be restricted to asthma, although any field relevant to asthma is equally acceptable.
  • Send the nominee’s current curriculum vitae including a list of the nominee’s publications
  • Nominator’s letter of recommendation

Submit Nomination Here

Past Recipients of the Ann Woolcock Memorial Award:

2014 - Jin-Ah Park, Ph.D. (Harvard School of Public Health)
2013 - Cindy Thamrin, PhD (Woolcock Institute of Medical Research)
2012 - Tillie-Louise Hackett, PhD, BS (St Pauls Hospital)
2011 - Graeme R. Zosky, PhD (Telethon Institute for Child Health Research)
2010 - Reinoud Gosens, PhD (University of Groningen)
2009 - Deepak Deshpande, D.V.M., PhD (University of Maryland Baltimore)
2008 - David W Kaczka, MD, PhD (John Hopkins Hospital)
2007 - Janette Burgess, PhD (University of Sydney)
2006 - Steven An, PhD (Johns Hopkins University)
2005 - Parameswaran Krishnan Nair, MD, PhD (McMaster University)
2004 - Julia K.L. Walker, PhD (Duke University)
2003 - John Fuller Hunt, MD (University of Virginia)
2002 - Debra Turner, PhD (University of Western Australia)