| | More

Assembly on Sleep and Respiratory Neurobiology James B. Skatrud New Investigator Award

The Assembly on Sleep and Respiratory Neurobiology of the American Thoracic Society is requesting nominations for the 2015 James B. Skatrud New Investigator Award.

The SRN New Investigator Award is intended to recognize the career accomplishments to date and future promise of a new investigator working in the broad area of respiratory neurobiology and sleep, which includes control of breathing, sleep mechanisms and sleep-disordered breathing. This may include work at the basic, clinical, epidemiological or other levels.

This award is intended to recognize a new investigator who is beyond formal training but not yet fully established. It is not intended for well-established investigators. It is also not intended as recognition for a single project, but for overall accomplishments and future potential. In general, nominees should be within 5 years of completion of their terminal research degree or clinical training although exceptions will be made for candidates who have taken significant time away from their academic career.

There are no citizenship requirements for this award and the nominee is not required to be an ATS member. However, nominations for this Award must be submitted by an ATS member (from any Assembly). In addition, the awardee will be expected to become an ATS member and must attend the 2015 ATS International Conference. The nominee cannot currently be serving on the Planning or Executive Committee of any ATS Assembly.

The submissions will be evaluated and ranked by the SRN Assembly Executive and Planning Committees, and the awardee will be announced at the SRN Assembly Meeting on Monday May 19th, 2015 in Denver. The awardee will be expected to make a short presentation about their research at the SRN Assembly Business Meeting.

The criteria for evaluation include: quality of science; significance of the science; career accomplishments to date (including publications and research support); strength of the nominating letter; and leadership potential (e.g., based on trajectory) in the SRN Assembly and the ATS.

The awardee will receive a check for $1,000.00 and a framed certificate.


  • Applicants should have a rank of Assistant Professor (or equivalent) or below
  • Nominees should have more than one first authored paper that is considered to advance the science of respiratory neurobiology or sleep.
  • A summary of candidate’s accomplishments in NIH-style biosketch format.
  • A statement by the candidate of his/her career goals and the potential of his/her research to advance the field of sleep and respiratory neurobiology (maximum 1 page).
  • Nominating letter by mentor (or mentors).


Past Recipients of the New Investigator Award

2014 - Robert L. Owens, MD
2013 - Jonathan C. Jun, MD
2012 - Silke Ryan, MD
2011 - Luciano Drager, MD
2010 - Michael Arzt, MD
2009 - Amy Jordan, MD
2008 - Sanjay Patel, MD, MS
2007 - Malcolm Kohler, MD
2006 - Vsevold Polotsky, PhD
2005 - Atul Malhotra, MD