HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAssembliesRespiratory Cell Molecular BiologyAwards ▶ 2015 ATS Abstract Scholarship Award Recipients
2015 ATS Abstract Scholarship Award Recipients

These Abstract Scholarship Awards have been funded by the American Thoracic Society

Maen Obeidat, BSPharm, PhD
University of British Columbia  James Hogg Research Centre
Abstract Title: Systems Genetics Approach Identifies Nicotine Receptor Antagonist as a Potential Therapeutic Target in COPD

Maor Sauler, MD
Yale University School of Medicine
Abstract Title: Innate Immune Ligands MIF and D-DT Cooperate to Regulate DNA Repair and Cellular Senescence in the Lung and Are Decreased in COPD

Ting Xie, MD, PhD
Medicine-Lung institute
Abstract Title: Mesenchymal Transcription Factor Tbx4 Regulates Pulmonary Fibrosis

Mohammad N. Islam, PhD
Columbia University Medical Center
Abstract Title: The Mitochondrial Calcium Uniporter is a Therapeutic Target for Acute Lung Injury

Jonathan Kropski, MD
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Abstract Title: Rare Variants in RTEL1 Are Associated with Familial Interstitial Pneumonia

Kai-Hui Sun, PhD
University of California, San Francisco (UCSF)
Abstract Title: Myofibroblasts Are Not the Major Fibroblasts Responsible for Integrin-Dependent TGFβ Activation During Lung Fibrogenesis In Vivo

Alison E. John, PhD
University of Nottingham
Abstract Title: Loss of Epithelial Gq/11 Signaling in the Lung Leads to IL-33 Mediated M2 Macrophage Polarization and Loss of TGFβ-Mediated Suppression of Macrophage MMP12

David Lagares, PhD
Center for Immunology and Inflammatory Diseases, Massachusetts General Hospital,
Abstract Title: Feedback Amplification of Lung Fibrosis Through Matrix Stiffness Gradient-Induced Fibroblast Durotaxis via αTAT1-Mediated Microtubule Acetylation

Dru Claar, MD
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Abstract Title: A Phenome-Wide-Association Study (PheWAS) Identifies Common Genetic Risk Among Clinical Risk Factors for Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis (IPF)

Avery DeVries, BSc
University of Arizona
Abstract Title: Neonatal Epigenetic Predictors of Childhood Asthma Map to Immunoregulatory and Pro-Inflammatory Pathways

Atsushi Saito, MD, PhD
University of Cincinnati
Abstract Title: Development of Biomarkers and Treatment Strategies in the Npt2b-/- Preclinical Mouse Model of Pulmonary Alveolar Microlithiasis

Renea P. Jablonski, MD
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Abstract Title: SIRT3 Attenuates Asbestos-Induced Alveolar Epithelial Cell Mitochondrial DNA Damage, Apoptosis and Pulmonary Fibrosis

Saleela Ruwanpura, PhD
The MIMR-PHI Institute
Abstract Title: Novel Role for Interleukin-6 Trans-Signaling in the Pathogenesis of Pulmonary Inflammation and Emphysema

Jing Yang, MD
Weill Cornell Medical College
Abstract Title: Distal-to-Proximal Remodeling of Small Airway Epithelium in Smokers Mediated by EGF Signaling in Small Airway Basal Progenitor Cells

Yi Zhang, PhD
Yale School of Medicine
Abstract Title: A Novel Hsp70-TLR4-Nox3 Axis in Emphysema

Vishwaraj Sontake, MSc
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
Abstract Title: Fibrocyte-Driven Accumulation of Wilms Tumor 1-Positive Lung-Resident Stromal Cells in Severe Fibrotic Lung Disease

Laura Warg, BSc
University of Colorado, Denver
Abstract Title: Use of Transgenic Mouse Models to Investigate Influence of Muc5b Expression on Development of Pulmonary Fibrosis

Jeremy A. Herrera, BSc
University of Minnesota
Abstract Title: Hippo Signaling Pathway Deregulation in IPF Controls microRNA-29 Expression

Suman Karki, PhD
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Abstract Title: TGF-β1 Upregulates Stem Cell Markers and Promigratory Phenotype in Pleural Mesothelial Cells

Jose Herazo-Maya,, MD
Yale University School of Medicine
Abstract Title: MicroRNA Expression Profiles in Plasma of Patients are Informative of Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis Presence and Outcome

This Abstract Scholarship Award has been funded by a generous donation from ATS Public Advisory Roundtable member - Hermansky Pudlak Syndrome Network

Chelsi Short, MSc
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Abstract Title:  TGFβ Production by Macrophages Contributes to Fibrotic Susceptibility in Hermansky-Pudlak Syndrome Mice

This Abstract Scholarship Awards has been funded by a generous donation from the National Emphysema Foundation, in Memory of Sreedhar Nair, MD, FACP, FCCP

Ranu Surolia, PhD
University of Alabama
Abstract Title:  Protection from Cadmium Induced Endothelial Cell Autophagy and Subsequent Emphysema iIn HO-1 Overexpressing Mice

Last Reviewed: July 2015