Assemblies and Sections

HomeMembersAssemblies and Sections ▶ Assembly Working Groups
Assembly Working Groups

Assemblies can choose to form working groups under the purview and approval of the current Assembly Chair. Working groups should include a minimum of five assembly members, but be no larger than twelve. Working groups have a maximum two-year term. Working Groups must complete their goals within the two-year term and cannot be renewed after goals are completed.

Working Groups may be utilized to meet the following goals:

  • Facilitate effective collaboration between Assembly Executive Committees and Assembly Members in a particular
    area within the Assembly;
  • To gain knowledge in a specific topic area under an Assembly;
  • Identify learning gaps in specific disease categories; and
  • Assess assembly membership needs.

Working Groups should not be created if the main objectives of the group are to:

  • Develop an official ATS statement
  • Program sessions at the conference
  • Plan networking events

These are the functions of both the Planning and Program Committees of the Assemblies and those committees must be utilized.

Current Assembly Working Groups

Clinical Problems

CP Early Career Professionals Working Group
Dr. Danielle E. Antin-Ozerkis, MD

Critical Care

CC Geriatrics/ Aging Working Group
Dr. Lauren Elena Ferrante, MD, MHS
Dr. Nathan Edward Brummel, MD, MSci
CC Global Working Group
Dr. Neill Adhikari, MD, MS
CC PEDS Medicine Working Group
Dr. Adrienne G. Randolph, MD, MSci
Dr. Ira M. Cheifetz, MD

Microbiology, Tuberculosis & Pulmonary Infections

MTPI International Relations Working Group
Dr. Carlos M. Luna Sr, MD


NUR Global Working Group
Ms. Zijing Chen, BSN
Dr. Rebecca Disler, PhD, MSc, BSc, BN, RN


PEDS International Relations Working Group
Dr. Laura Graciela Gochicoa-Rangel, MD
Dr. Ozge Yilmaz, MD
PEDS Sickle Cell Lung Disease Working Group
Prof. Anastassios Constantin Koumbourlis, MD, MPH

Respiratory Cell & Molecular Biology

RCMB Working Group on Aging
Dr. G. Scott Budinger, MD
RCMB Early Career Professionals Working Group
Dr. Rebecca C. Keith, MD

Thoracic Oncology

TO Early Career Professional Working Group
Dr. Nichole T. Tanner, MD, MSCR
Dr. Mark M. Fuster, MD
TO International Relations Working Group
Dr. Charles A. Powell, MD
TO Interventional Pulmonology Working Group
Dr. Lonny B. Yarmus, DO
Dr. Momen M. Wahidi, MBA, MD
Last Reviewed: April 2017