HomeMembersCommittees ▶ Committee

Scientific Advisory Committee

Chair Richard J. Schwab, MD Philadelphia, PA
Vice Chair Renee D. Stapleton, MD, PhD Burlington, VT
Committee Member Raouf S. Amin, MD Cincinnati, OH
Committee Member Raanan Arens, MD Bronx, NY
Committee Member Kamran Atabai, MD San Francisco, CA
Committee Member Rebecca M. Baron, MD Boston, MA
Committee Member G. Scott Budinger, MD Chicago, IL
Committee Member Linda L. Chlan, PhD, RN Rochester, MN
Committee Member Charles Dela Cruz, MD, PhD Hamden, CT
Committee Member Tushar Desai, MD, MPH Stanford, CA
Committee Member Benjamin M. Gaston, MD Cleveland, OH
Committee Member Sina A. Gharib, MD Seattle, WA
Committee Member Steven M. Kawut, MD, MS Philadelphia, PA
Committee Member James P. Kiley, PhD Bethesda, MD
Committee Member Julie G. Ledford, PhD Tucson, AZ
Committee Member Alison Lee, MD New York, NY
Committee Member James E. Loyd, MD Nashville, TN
Committee Member Guy B. Marks, MBBS, PhD Sydney, NSW, Australia, Australia
Committee Member Robert L. Owens, MD La Jolla, CA
Committee Member Karen M. Ridge, PhD Chicago, IL
Committee Member Anasuya Sarkar, PhD Columbus, OH
Committee Member Adam J. Shapiro, MD Montreal, QC, Canada
Committee Member Rubin M. Tuder, MD Aurora, CO
Staff Erin Marie Nebel New York, NY

The Scientific Advisory Committee provides strategic guidance for the Society’s research programs and scientific policies and is primarily responsible for the direct oversight for the process of reviewing grants applications to the ATS Foundation Research Program. The Committee provides oversight for the ATS Foundation Research Program and works with the ATS Foundation and ATS staff on identifying additional extramural sources of funding. It recommends policies to the Board that would further the Society’s science and research mission and objectives, including scientific areas in need of research, and develops collaborations with other societies and organizations to further research in pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine with an interest in proposals that advance health equality. The Committee determines the number of Scientific Review Groups and the number of members of each Scientific Review Group needed to provide scientific review for the different grant programs. It also identifies the chair and members of the ATS Scientific Review Groups. Additionally, it determines the process and develops application forms, criteria and guidelines for the various grant opportunities. Oversees the work of the different review groups and selects grants for funding.

Benchmarks, 2017-2018:
• Increase the total number of awards that can be offered through financial collaborations with public interest organizations and industry partners by reaching out to lapsed and new partners;
• Increase application submissions by advertisement at ATS 2018 and partnership with Assembly leadership and the MITT committee;
• Provide resources and guidance to applicants through materials and lectures to support meritorious grant proposals;
• Decrease the division of fund allocation by category through focusing dollars on unrestricted grants in the three pillars: pulmonary, critical care, and sleep.