Press Releases

HomeAboutNewsroomPress Releases ▶ ATS Research Program Awards Unrestricted Grants for 2021-22
ATS Research Program Awards Unrestricted Grants for 2021-22

July 21, 2022 –The American Thoracic Society Research Program today announced the five recipients of Unrestricted Grants for the 2021-2022 grant cycle. These grants support research in critical care pulmonary and sleep medicine, the three pillars of the Society. Each recipient is awarded $40,000 to pursue novel approaches to  lung disease management, as well as foster health care quality and improve patient outcomes.

Unrestricted Grant: CRITICAL CARE
Deepshikha Ashana, MD, MBA, MS|
Duke University
Racial Disparities in Emotion-Handling in the ICU

Elias Baedorf Kassis, MD| Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center – Harvard Medical School
Reverse in Triggering Dyssynchrony Frequency, Biomarkers and Outcomes in ARDS


Unrestricted Grant: PULMONARY MEDICINE
Hasina Outtz Reed, MD, PhD|
Weill Cornell Medicine
Lymphatic Dysfunction in the Pathogenesis of Emphysema

Andrew Prigge, MD| Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
The Role of Regulatory T Cells in Juvenile Influenza Pneumonia


Unrestricted Grant: SLEEP MEDICINE
Mohammad Badran, PhD, B Pharm, MSc |
University of Missouri
Effects of Intermittent Hypoxia on Coronary Artery Function in PAI-1 Transgenic Mice


“For young researchers, the unrestricted grants are an important step in their career trajectory,” Kamran Atabai, MD, chair of ATS’s Scientific Grant Review Committee. “The exceptional promise of the awardees this year bode well for the future of critical care, pulmonary and sleep medicine.”