Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Critical Care Annual Lifetime Achievement Award
Assembly on Critical Care Annual Lifetime Achievement Award


This award is given in appreciation of a career devoted to research, and teaching of the science, and practice of critical care medicine, as well as outstanding service to the Assembly on Critical Care. Awardees will be honored at the CC Assembly gathering at the ATS International Conference.


  • Candidate should be:
    • an active clinician or investigator in critical care medicine for at least 16 years beyond training
    • recognized for making outstanding contributions to the international science or practice of CC medicine.
    • recognized by his/her peers as an outstanding clinician and/or researcher, teacher, and mentor.
  • Contributions to the CC Assembly in the form of committee participation or leadership, promoting CCA diversity, and/or otherwise advancing the CCA’s mission will be viewed favorably.
  • The nominee must be a CCA member (primary or secondary).
  • The nomination packet requires one or more letters of support by members of the CCA addressing each criterion above, along with the nominee’s curriculum vitae, institution, and academic position. If multiple letters are submitted, please collate and submit them as one pdf file.

Past Recipients of the Assembly on Critical Care Annual Lifetime Achievement Award:

2021 - Adrienne Randolph, MD, Msci
2020 - Michael Pinsky, MD
2019 - Richard K. Albert, MD
2018 - Margaret S. Herridge, MD
2017 - Polly E. Parsons, MD
2016 - Jesse B. Hall, MD
2015 - Roy G. Brower, MD
2014 - Rolf D. Hubmayr, MD
2013 - Deborah J. Cook, MD, FRCPC, MSc(Epid)
2012 - Arthur S. Slutsky. MD
2011 - Lawrence D.H. Wood, MD, PhD
2010 - Martin J. Tobin, MD
2009 - Gordon Bernard MD