John Peters Award

The John M. Peters Award for outstanding contributions to environmental or occupational health through leadership in research, education, or public health. The award will be presented at the 2019 ATS International Conference in Dallas, TX. The awardee will receive a plaque and a monetary award of up to $500.


  • Associate or full professor (or equivalent, i.e., 8 or more years in the field)
  • Outstanding contributions to environmental or occupational health as evidence by major leadership in research directly relevant to prevention; and/or major leadership in education or public health practice.
  • Relevance of the contribution to preventing and decreasing the morbidity and mortality of respiratory disorders caused by environmental or occupational exposures.
  • ATS membership is desirable but not required
  • The curriculum vitae from the candidate must also be included along with a list of the nominee’s publications

Past Recipients of the EOPH John Peters Award:

2018 - Susan M. Tarlo, MBBS
2017 - Juan C. Celedón, MD, DrPH
2016 - John R. Balmes, MD
2015 - Maritta S. Jaakkola, MD
2014 - Kathleen Kreiss, MD
2013 - David C. Christiani, MD, MPH, MS
2012 - Margaret R. Becklake, MD
2011 - Frank E. Speizer, MD
2010 - James A. Merchant, MD, DrPH

Last Reviewed: February 2019