Val Vallyathan Award

The Val Vallyathan Award is a Senior Faculty award for applicants with outstanding contributions to basic and translational science in environmental or occupational respiratory diseases. The award will be presented at the annual 2019 ATS International Conference in Dallas, TX with a plaque and $2,500.

This award is fully supported by the National Emphysema Foundation.


    • Associate or full professor (or equivalent, i.e.,  8 or more years in the field)
    • Outstanding contributions to basic or translational science in environmental or occupational respiratory diseases
    • Relevance of the contribution to preventing and decreasing the morbidity and mortality of respiratory disorders caused by environmental or occupational exposures
    • ATS membership is desirable but not required
    • Send the nominee’s current curriculum vitae including a list of the nominee’s publications

Past Recipients of the Val Vallyathan Senior Award:

2019 - Kent Pinkerton, PhD
2018 - Jack Harkema, DVM, PhD, ATSF
2017 - Ann Frances Hubbs, DVM, PhD, DaCVP
2016 - Daniel L. Costa, DSc
2015 - William N. Rom, MD, MPH
2014 - Joe L. Mauderly, D.V.M.
2013 - Benoit Nemery de Bellevaux, MD, PhD, MSc
2012 - Vincent Castranova, PhD
2011 - Guenter Oberdorster, DVM, PhD

Past Recipients of the Junior Level Award:

2019 - Christopher Rider, PhD
2018 - Amanda Mathew, PhD
2017 - Carrie Aaron, MD
2016 - Emmanuel Paul, PhD
2015 - Robert M. Tighe, MD
2014 - Clifford Courville, MD
2013 - Patricia Robbe, MSc
2012 - Amar Mehta, DSc, MPH, PhD
2011 - Khandaker TS Islam, MS, PhD

Last Reviewed: August 2019