Vaccine Resource Center

HomeVaccine Resource Center ▶ Specialty Societies Advancing Adult Immunization (SSAAI)
Specialty Societies Advancing Adult Immunization (SSAAI)


ATS Vaccine Initiative

ATS is one of seven specialty societies to be awarded a grant from the Council of Medical Specialty Societies (CMSS) and CDC to increase COVID-19, influenza, and routine vaccination rates among high-risk adult patients nationally. Specifically, ATS will focus on high-risk adult patients with respiratory conditions.

Using a quality improvement approach, ATS will partner with and fund 8 health care systems to test and implement strategies to improve vaccine uptake over the course of the 5-year award.

As part of this initiative, ATS will also:

  • Identify member QI champions to promote immunization improvement in respiratory health and serve as advocates to the ATS community, supporting other health systems in their efforts to increase vaccine coverage.
  • Review and update ATS immunization policy statements, clinical guidance, and member and patient educational materials and share those with the broader membership.

To date, ATS has partnered with the following health systems:

  • University of Arizona/Banner Health
  • University of California San Francisco/San Francisco Health Network
  • UC Health (University of Colorado Health)
  • Wayne Health
  • West Virginia University Hospitals Inc.


Find Out More

If you are interested in finding out more about this initiative, please contact Amy F. Stern, Senior Director, Vaccine Initiatives.


Helpful Resources


ATS Vaccine Initiative Advisory Panel Members and Staff

Name Home Institution
Justin Ortiz, MD, MS, Co-chair University of Maryland
Tina Hartert, MD, MPH, Co-chair Vanderbilt University
Donna J. Appell, RN Hermansky-Pudlak Syndrome Network Inc.
Charles Dela Cruz, MD, PhD, ATSF Yale University
Laura C. Feemster, MSc, MD University of Washington
Kimberly Fisher, MD, MSc UMass Chan Medical School
Lynn K. Fukushima, RN, MSN, CCRC University of Southern California
Vidya Krishnan, MD, MHS, ATSF Metro Health Medical Center
Michele Manion Primary Ciliary Dyskinesia Foundation
David M. Mannino, MD University of Kentucky
Mark L. Metersky, MD University of Connecticut Health Center
Isaretta L. Riley, MD, MPH Duke University
Marianna Martin Sockrider, MD, DrPH, ATSF Texas Children's Hospital
Dona J. Upson, MD, MA, ATSF Veterans Administration
Amy Stern, MPH ATS
Anna Hrovat, MPH ATS