HomeMembersCommittees ▶ Committee

Awards Committee

Chair Andrew J. Halayko, BS(Hons), MSc, PhD Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Vice Chair Naftali Kaminski, MD New Haven, CT
Committee Member Derek C. Angus, MD, MPH Pittsburgh, PA
Committee Member M. Safwan Badr, MD Detroit, MI
Committee Member Rebecca M. Baron, MD Boston, MA
Committee Member Zea Borok, MD Los Angeles, CA
Committee Member David M. Center, MD Boston, MA
Committee Member Avraham Cooper, MD Columbus, OH
Committee Member - PAR Representative Karen L. Erickson Miami, FL
Committee Member Patricia W. Finn, MD Chicago, IL
Committee Member Mark W. Geraci, MD Indianapolis, IN
Committee Member Mark N. Gillespie, PhD Mobile, AL
Committee Member - ATS President David Gozal, MD, MBA Chicago, IL
Committee Member Kalpalatha K. Guntupalli, MD Houston, TX
Committee Member Nicholas S. Hill, MD Boston, MA
Committee Member Patty Lee, MD New Haven, CT
Committee Member Margaret W. Leigh, MD Chapel Hill, NC
Committee Member Andrew H. Limper, MD Rochester, MN
Committee Member Sadis Matalon, PhD Birmingham, AL
Committee Member Joel Moss, MD, PhD Bethesda, MD
Committee Member - ATS President-elect Marc Moss, MD Aurora, CO
Committee Member Arth Nana, MD Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Committee Member Reynold A. Panettieri, MD New Brunswick, NJ
Committee Member Anne-Marie Russell, MScN London, United Kingdom
Committee Member Lynn M. Schnapp, MD Charleston, SC
Committee Member David A. Schwartz, MD Aurora, CO
Committee Member Dean Sheppard, MD San Francisco, CA
Committee Member Peter J. Sterk, MD, PhD Amsterdam NL-1105 AZ, Netherlands
Committee Member Lorraine B. Ware, MD Nashville, TN
Committee Member Benjamin Wu, MD New York, NY
Ex-Officio - Immediate Past President Atul Malhotra, MD La Jolla, CA
Staff D'Ann Brown New York, NY

The Awards Committee selects the annual recipient of the Trudeau Medal and the other ATS awards presented at the general awards session of the International Conference. The Committee periodically reviews and revises, as needed, the selection criteria for these ATS awards. It also provides oversight to the entire ATS portfolio of awards to prevent duplication and manage overlap.

Benchmarks, 2016-2017
• Review policies and procedures for ATS awards and make recommendations and consider additional awards;
• Solicit nominations and select ATS Awardees;
• Seek ways to increase the number of nominees for those awards where there are few nominees;
• Review the portfolio of ATS Awards and if necessary make recommendations to the Executive Committee and Board of Directors on possible changes to the portfolio;
• Develop recommendations for Executive Committee as to how to enhance appeal and attendance at awards presentations;
• Define criteria for awards to recognize member efforts to eliminate gender, racial, ethnic, or economic health disparities worldwide;
• Better define the Jo Rae Wright Award criteria;
• Develop formalized adjudication processes for teleconference meetings - using pre-assigned primary and secondary reviewers, akin to a typical grant review panel.