ATS Scholarships

HomeProfessionalsCareer DevelopmentATS Scholarships ▶ 2018 Minority Trainee Development Scholarship (MTDS) WINNERS
2018 Minority Trainee Development Scholarship (MTDS) WINNERS

Congratulations to the 2018 Minority Trainee Development Scholarship!

Congratulations to the 40 recipients of the 2018 ATS Minority Trainee Development Scholarship (MTDS)! Please click here to view the complete list of names! The MTDS is supported by the American Thoracic Society and provides travel support for underrepresented minorities defined by the National Institute of Health (NIH) to attend the ATS 2018 International Conference in San Diego, CA

The MTDS recipients will be honored at the Diversity Forum, Sunday, May 20, 2018 from 11:45 am – 1:15 pm, Manchester Grand Hyatt, Grand Hall B. The annual ATS Diversity Forum focuses on diversity within the fields of pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine and research. At the 2018 forum we will hear from a speaker, to be named, who will address career and diversity issues followed by a question and answer period. The Minority Trainee Development Scholarships (MTDS), which recognize trainees who are members of underrepresented minority groups, will also be presented at this forum. MTDS recipients are selected for the quality of the science in their submitted abstract, among other criteria. Their abstracts will be presented at this conference. All conference attendees, including past MTDS recipients, are invited to attend this forum which provides an opportunity for discussion and networking among attendees. Attendees will find inspiration and valuable career insights. The Diversity Forum is organized and presented by the ATS Membership Committee and will be hosted by its chair Janet Lee, MD. The Minority Trainee Development Scholarships are supported by the American Thoracic Society.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Elizabeth Guzman at the ATS office by email or by telephone (212-315-8627).

Once again, congratulations to the 2018 MTDS awardees, and thank you to all those who applied. We look forward to seeing you in San Diego, CA!

Yolanda Mageto, MD, MPH
Chair, MTDS Subcommittee

2018 Minority Trainee Development Scholarship (MTDS) Awardees

  1. Antonio Arciniegas Rubio, MD
    Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School
    Mentor: Dr. Rebecca Marlene Baron

  2. Javier Arroyo Morales, MD
    University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez
    Mentor: Dr. Christine Freeman

  3. Shanna Ashley, PhD
    University of Michigan
    Mentor: Dr. Robert Dickson

  4. Gabriel Barron, BS
    University of Chicago
    Mentor: Dr. Lucia Nieto Schuger

  5. Isabel Bazan, MD
    Yale School of Medicine
    Mentor: Dr. Patty J. Lee

  6. Alexandra Bickett
    University of Cincinnati
    Mentor: Dr. Robert P. Baughman

  7. Ebony Chambers, PhD
    Brown University
    Mentor: Dr. Qing Lu

  8. Daniel Colon Hidalgo, MD
    University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
    Mentor: Dr. Alison Morris

  9. Gustavo Cortes Puentes, MD
    Mayo Clinic - Rochester
    Mentor: Dr. Cassie Kennedy

  10. Wilfredo De Jesus Rojas, MD, FAAP
    McGovern Medical School, UTHealth at Houston
    Mentor: Dr. James M. Stark

  11. Katelyn Dunigan, BS
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Mentor: Dr. Trent Tipple

  12. Nkiruka Emeagwali, MD, PhD
    Yale University
    Mentor: Dr. Naftali Kaminski

  13. Oladunni Enilari, MD
    Albert Einstein College of Medicine/ Montefiore Medical Center
    Mentor: Dr. Aluko Hope

  14. Maria Espinosa, BS
    University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine
    Mentor: Dr. Michael D. Howell

  15. Nathalie Fuentes, BS
    Penn State College of Medicine
    Mentor: Dr. Patricia Silveyra

  16. Francisco Gonzalez Gonzalez, MD
    Northwestern University
    Mentor: Dr. Karen Ridge

  17. Miguel Hernandez, MSc
    University of Nevada, Reno
    Mentor: Dr. Cherie A. Singer

  18. Tiffanie Jones, MD, MPH
    University of Pennsylvania
    Mentor: Dr. Nuala J. Meyer

  19. Leslie Martinez, BS
    DePaul University
    Mentor: Dr. Debra E. Weese-Mayer

  20. Corina Marziano, MS
    University of Virginia
    Mentor: Dr. Swapnil Sonkusare

  21. Daniel Mendoza, PhD
    University of Utah
    Mentor: Dr. Robert Paine III

  22. Kristina Montemayor, MD
    Johns Hopkins University
    Mentor: Drs. Natalie West and Noah Lechtzin

  23. Natalie Morel
    University of Wisconsin Madison
    Mentor: Dr. Mihaela Teodorescu

  24. Cristhiaan Ochoa-Arenas, MD, PhD
    UT Southwestern Medical Center
    Mentor: Dr. Lance Terada

  25. Sarah Owusu, PhD
    Weill Cornell Medical College
    Mentor: Dr. Ronald G. Crystal, ND

  26. Jacelyn Peabody, BA
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Mentor: Dr. Steven M. Rowe

  27. Alexia Perryman, BS
    University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
    Mentor: Dr.  Ilona Jaspers

  28. Yoland Philpotts, MD
    Columbia University Medical Center
    Mentor: Dr. Matthew Baldwin

  29. Chiagozie Pickens, MD
    Northwestern University
    Mentor: Dr. Richard Wunderink

  30. Hasina Reed, MD, PhD
    University of Pennsylvania
    Mentor: Dr. Mark L. Kahn

  31. Juan Rojas, MD
    University of Chicago
    Mentor: Dr. Matthew Churpek

  32. Lesly-Anne Samedy, PharmD, PhD
    University of California, San Francisco (UCSF)
    Mentor: Dr. Esteban G. Burchard

  33. Carlos Sendon, MD
    Yale University
    Mentor: Dr. Emanuela Bruscia

  34. Tomeka Suber, MD, PhD
    University of Pittsburgh
    Mentor: Dr. Rama K. Mallampalli

  35. Marta Teixeira Gomes, PhD
    Indiana University
    Mentor: Dr. Roberto F. Machado

  36. Uchenna Unachukwu, PhD
    Columbia University Medical Center
    Mentor: Dr. Jeanine Marie D'Armiento

  37. Luis Vargas Buonfiglio, MD
    University of Iowa
    Mentor: Dr. Joseph Zabner

  38. Fernando Vazquez de Lara, MD
    Icahn School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai St. Luke's-West
    Mentor: Dr. Joseph Mathew

  39. Gerardo Vazquez Garcia, MD
    The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
    Mentor: Dr. Samuel Goldfarb

  40. Jerry Zifodya, MD, MPH
    University of Washington Medical Center
    Mentor: Dr. Kristina Crothers

Last Reviewed: May 2018