Disease Related Resources

HomeProfessionalsClinical ResourcesDisease Related Resources ▶ A Message from ATS Leadership
A Message from ATS Leadership

A Message from ATS Leadership


March 18, 2020

To Our Colleagues in the Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Professions

We write with a heavy heart to inform you that the American Thoracic Society (ATS) Board of Directors have decided to cancel the International Conference, originally scheduled for May 15-20, 2020 in Philadelphia, due to the COVID-19 pandemic and ensuing public health crisis currently facing the global community.  We understand that your current and appropriate focus is on caring for patients and conducting important research during this critical time.

This decision was made based on recent actions by various government entities, including guidance issued by the CDC and the Pennsylvania Governor and out of an abundance of caution and concern for our community, members, conference attendees, exhibitors and staff.

To help fill the void from the loss of the conference, ATS leadership is currently exploring options for providing select elements of the conference content in a web-based format that would be available later this year.  Details are still being discussed, and we will announce next steps as more information becomes available.

For those of you who have registered for the meeting, we are working to make refunds for registration and hotel rooms that were booked through the ATS housing partner a seamless process and will be issuing more information soon.

ATS appreciates everyone’s patience and understanding during this unprecedented public health crisis. We understand that your priorities are your patients, colleagues and families, and we want to support that mission in every way possible.  We remain committed to offering opportunities for the pulmonary, critical care and sleep communities to share knowledge and collaborate to advance science and improve patient care.



James M. Beck, MD, ATSF, President

Juan C. Celedón, MD, DrPH, ATSF, President-Elect

Polly E. Parsons, MD, ATSF, Immediate Past President

Lynn M. Schnapp, MD, ATSF, Vice President

Gregory P. Downey, MD, ATSF, Secretary-Treasurer

Eric S. White, MD, MS, ATSF, International Conference Committee Chair

Andrew J. Halayko, PhD, ATSF, International Conference Committee Chair Appointee

Karen J. Collishaw, MPP, CAE, Executive Director