Press Releases from the ATS International Conference

HomeAboutNewsroomPress ReleasesPress Releases from the ATS International Conference ▶ 2021 Respiratory Health Awards Presented at ATS 2021
2021 Respiratory Health Awards Presented at ATS 2021


New York, NY – Today, during the ATS 2021 International Conference, the American Thoracic Society recognized the awardees of the 2021 Respiratory Health Awards. These 10 awards represent outstanding contributions to the field of respiratory health through a variety of means, from research and diagnosis to education and advocacy.

“The annual ATS International Conference is a time for clinicians and scientists from around the world to come together to share cutting-edge research and the latest breakthroughs,” said ATS President Juan C. Celedón, MD, ATSF. “It is an honor to recognize colleagues who have advanced science and patient care throughout their distinguished careers.”

The 2021 Recognition Award for Scientific Accomplishments went to four awardees: Jason H.T. Bates, PhD, DSc, ATSF; Farrah Kheradmand, MD, MS; Fernando J. Martinez, MD, MS; and Joseph Zabner, MD, for their outstanding scientific contributions in basic or clinical research to enhance the understanding, prevention and treatment of respiratory disease or critical illness.

Two awardees received the 2021 Distinguished Achievement Award: Antonino Catanzaro, MD; and Theodore F. Reiss, MD, MBE, ATSF, in acknowledgment of their professionalism, collegiality, and citizenship in lung health and the research community. 

William Checkley, MD, PhD received the 2021 World Lung Health Award in recognition of his contributions to improving world lung health, and the 2021 Public Service Award recipient was  Digambar Behera, MD, recognized for  his contribution to public and population health equity.

Jennifer McCallister, MD, ATSF received this year’s Outstanding Educator Award, honoring excellence in clinical or research education as it relates to pulmonary disease, and David H. Au, MD, MS, ATSF received the Research Innovation and Translation Achievement Award for his contributions to the advancement of respiratory research focused on specific innovations to improve health by advancing practice, policy, and health care delivery.

The 2021 recipient of the Outstanding Clinician Award was Samuel Louie, MD, in honor of his contributions to the clinical practice of lung health medicine, as well as his substantial contributions to the American Thoracic Society and American Lung Association throughout his career.

To learn more about the Respiratory Health Awards, please visit our website.


Media Contact
Dacia Morris
Director of Communications


About the American Thoracic Society
Founded in 1905, the American Thoracic Society is the world's leading medical association dedicated to advancing pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine. The Society’s 16,000 members prevent and fight respiratory disease around the globe through research, education, patient care and advocacy. The ATS publishes four journals, the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, the American Journal of Respiratory Cell and Molecular BiologyAnnals of the American Thoracic Society, and ATS Scholar.