Press Releases from the ATS International Conference

HomeAboutNewsroomPress ReleasesPress Releases from the ATS International Conference ▶ The ATS Announces 2021 Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science
The ATS Announces 2021 Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science

New York, NY — The American Thoracic Society has named Katherine Cahill, MD, the recipient of the 2021 Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science. The award was presented virtually during the ATS 2021 International Conference.

The Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science is aimed at the rising generation of individuals who will be tomorrow’s leaders in science. It recognizes demonstrated potential for significant achievement and contributions.

Dr. Cahill is currently an assistant professor of medicine at Vanderbilt University Medical Center where she serves as the medical director of clinical asthma research. Dr. Cahill received her degree in biology from Pepperdine University and her medical degree from Rutgers - Robert Wood Johnson Medical School. She completed an internal medicine residency at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center followed by a fellowship in allergy and immunology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. She was a 2016 ATS BEAR Cage challenge finalist and has been invited to present her research at the annual meetings of the ATS and the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology.

“I’m pleased to announce Dr. Cahill as the Jo Rae Wright Awardee,” said ATS President Juan C. Celedón, MD, ATSF. “Developing the next generation of leaders is critical for continued scientific advancement and patient care, and as such is a key priority of the ATS. The impressive achievements of Dr. Cahill indicate a bright future not just for her, but for our Society and our field.” 

Dr. Cahill’s translational research is focused on innate immune mechanisms of adult asthma. Her work has demonstrated that mast cell mediator production contributes to severe asthma phenotypes and inhibition of mast cells with imatinib improves airway hyperresponsiveness. Dr. Cahill is co-PI of an NIAID-funded U01 to evaluate the clinical and mechanistic impact of GLP-1R agonists in obesity-associated asthma.

To learn more about the ATS 2021 Respiratory Health Awards, visit our website.


Media Contact
Dacia Morris
Director of Communications


About the American Thoracic Society
Founded in 1905, the American Thoracic Society is the world's leading medical association dedicated to advancing pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine. The Society’s 16,000 members prevent and fight respiratory disease around the globe through research, education, patient care and advocacy. The ATS publishes four journals, the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, the American Journal of Respiratory Cell and Molecular Biology,  Annals of the American Thoracic Society, and ATS Scholar.

<!doctype html>