HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAssembliesPulmonary CirculationAwards ▶ Assembly on Pulmonary Circulation Leadership Award
Assembly on Pulmonary Circulation Leadership Award

Meet the 2022 Winner - Paul Hassoun, MD



Paul M. Hassoun, MD is Professor of Medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and the Director of the Pulmonary Hypertension Program at Johns Hopkins Hospital.  He received his medical degree from the Faculté de Médecine Lariboisière-Saint Louis at the University of Paris, France, completed an internship and residency at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and a fellowship in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital, both at Harvard Medical School. He was on faculty in the Pulmonary Division at New England Medical Center/Tufts University School of Medicine (Tufts-NEMC) in Boston, MA, until 2002 when he joined the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Hassoun has served or currently serves on numerous American Thoracic Society (ATS) Assemblies and committees. He has served as the ATS Pulmonary Circulation Program Committee Chair (2009), Pulmonary Circulation Assembly Chair (2011-2012) and ATS Publications Policy Committee. He served as President of the Pulmonary Vascular Research Institute (PVRI; 2018-2019) and is currently a Board member of the PVRI.

Dr. Hassoun has held numerous editorial activities including serving on the Editorial Board of the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Medicine (2010-Present), CHEST (2006-2015) and the European Respiratory Review (2008-2015). He currently serves as Associate Editor of the European Respiratory Journal (2013-Present) and has served as Associate Editor of the Journal of Clinical Investigation (2017-2022).


The Pulmonary Circulation Leadership Award is given annually in the Appreciation of Decades of Leadership and Devoted Service to the Pulmonary Circulation Research Community.

Past Recipients of the Assembly on Pulmonary Circulation Leadership Award:

2021 - Nicholas S. Hill, MD
2020 - Karen A. Fagen, MD
2019 - Jason X. J Yuan, MD, PhD
2018 - Ghazwan Butrous, MD, PhD
2017 - Jeremy P. T. Ward, PhD
2016 - Timothy M. Moore, MD, PhD
2015 - Skip Garcia, MD
2014 - Jimmie T. Sylvester, MD
2013 - Mary I. Townsley, PhD
2012 - Ivan F. McMurtry, MD
2011 - Sharon I. S. Rounds, MD
2010 - Charles A. Hales, MD
2009 - Everett Sinnett, PhD
2008 - Claude Lenfant, MD
2007 - Rino Aldrighetti, the President of the PHA
2006 - Wiltz W Wagner, Jr. PhD
2005 - Dorothy B Gail, PhD
2004 - John H Newman, MD
2003 - Suzanne S Hurd, PhD
2002 - Edward R Block, MD
2001 - E Kenneth Weir, MD
2000 - Carol E. Vriem, PhD