HomeMembersCommittees ▶ Committee

Publications Policy Committee

Chair Bruce D. Levy, MD, ATSF Boston, MA
Committee Member Steven L. Brody, MD, ATSF Saint Louis, MO
Committee Member Ivor S. Douglas, FRCP, MD Denver, CO
Committee Member Philip Harber, MD, MPH Tucson, AZ
Committee Member Tina V. Hartert, MD, MPH Nashville, TN
Committee Member Paul M. Hassoun, MD Baltimore, MD
Committee Member - Editor, AnnalsATS David J. Lederer, MD, MS New York, NY
Committee Member David M. Lewinsohn, MD, PhD Portland, OR
Committee Member Maria Plataki, PhD, MD New York, NY
Committee Member Todd W. Rice, MD, MSc Nashville, TN
Committee Member Manuel Sanchez De La Torre, PhD Lleida, Spain
Committee Member - Editor, AJRCMB Paul T. Schumacker, PhD, ATSF Chicago, IL
Committee Member Kerri A. Smith, MD Philadelphia, PA
Committee Member Robert M. Tighe, MD Durham, NC
Committee Member R William Vandivier, MD Denver, CO
Committee Member Christopher M. Waters, PhD Lexington, KY
Committee Member - Editor, AJRCCM Jadwiga A. Wedzicha, MD, PhD, ATSF London, United Kingdom
Committee Member Steven R. White, MD Chicago, IL
Staff Diane Gern New York, NY
Staff Kevin C. Wilson, MD, ATSF Westwood, MA
Staff - Executive Director Stephen C. Crane, PhD, MPH New York, NY

The Publications Policy Committee provides oversight of the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, American Journal of Respiratory Cell and Molecular Biology, and Annals of the American Thoracic Society to promote scientific integrity, relevance and leadership in the fields of pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine. The Publications Policy Committee ensures that the Society’s journals contribute to the achieving the Society’s mission. The Committee is responsible for the broad editorial policies of the journals. It evaluates the performance of the editors and transmits the evaluations to the Executive Committee. The Committee regularly evaluates the overall publications needs of the Society and, when necessary, recommends appropriate changes in the publications program. It provides the Board with strategic guidance for addressing emerging challenges and monitors the effectiveness of new programs, and offers a forum for evaluation of the strengths, weaknesses, threats, and opportunities related to ATS journals. Working in close association with the Documents Development and Implementation Committee, the Committee promotes the effective dissemination of official ATS documents. Finally, it is also responsible for oversight and management of Journal CME planning and implementation.

Benchmarks, 2017-2018:
• Work with the Finance Committee to determine how and when to implement to proposed compensation plan,

• Review the performance of the journal editor's on an annual basis in a closed session with the Editors recused, using the Editor's job description as a guide in the evaluation.

• Determine how to improve the impact factor or other important metrics for all of the ATS journals.

• In conjunction with the Planning and Evaluation Committee, identify how to enhance the journals so that they are meeting the needs of our members.