HomeMembersCommittees ▶ Committee

Tobacco Action Committee

Chair Michelle Eakin, PhD Baltimore, MD
Vice Chair Hasmeena Kathuria, MD, ATSF Boston, MA
Committee Member Sarah E. Bauer, MD INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Committee Member Ellen L. Burnham, MD Denver, CO
Committee Member Elif Dagli, MD Istanbul, Turkey
Committee Member Ilona Jaspers, PhD Chapel Hill, NC
Committee Member Sucharita R. Kher, MD Boston, MA
Committee Member Frank T. Leone, MD, MS, ATSF Philadelphia, PA
Committee Member Anne C. Melzer, MD, MS Minneapolis, MN
Committee Member Farzad Moazed, MD OAKLAND, CA
Committee Member Theo J. Moraes, MD Toronto, ON, Canada
Committee Member Smita Pakhale, MD, FRCPC, MSCE Ottawa, ON, Canada
Committee Member Krishna P. Reddy, MD, MS Boston, MA
Committee Member Dona J. Upson, MD, MA, ATSF Albuquerque, NM
Committee Member Gustavo E. Zabert, MD Neuquén, Argentina
Staff Courtney L. White New York, NY
Staff Gary Ewart Washington, DC

The Tobacco Action Committee is charged with organizing and coordinating the ATS tobacco and marijuana control and tobacco dependence treatment activities. These activities will include research, clinical, educational, advocacy and policy activities with the ultimate goal of minimizing the impact of tobacco on morbidity and mortality worldwide. The committee will strive to enhance the ability of the ATS to participate more fully in the investigation of the root causes of tobacco use; treatment of nicotine dependence; and advocacy efforts to eliminate its use. The Committee will communicate and collaborate with similar committees or bodies in other organizations such as the Forum of International Respiratory Societies, the Asociación Latinoamericana de Tórax (ALAT), Asian Pacific Society of Respirology, and the European Respiratory Society Tobacco Action and Control Committees.

Benchmarks, 2019-2020:

• Move to completion of Tobacco Dependence Clinical Practice Guideline project;
• Collaborate with ATS Government Relations and others with interest in tobacco control to develop evidence-based tobacco control policy recommendations;
• Collaborate with other relevant ATS committees and assemblies to develop products, projects, and/or proposals that address tobacco dependence, tobacco policy, and/or health impacts of tobacco and nicotine;
• Develop webinar(s) on tobacco, nicotine, and marijuana related topics
• Collaborate with the Patient and Family Education committee and ATS website/social media to update materials related to tobacco
• Engage other professional societies in the US and internationally to explore areas of overlapping tobacco control advocacy potential;
• In collaboration with the Ethics and Conflict of Interest Committee and the Assembly on Environmental, Occupational and Public Health establish a working group charged with the creation of a COI policy specifically requiring reporting of any relationship to the cannabis industry.
• Engage junior members in ATS Tobacco Control Activities.