Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Allergy, Immunology & Inflammation Early Career Achievement Award
Assembly on Allergy, Immunology & Inflammation Early Career Achievement Award

This award recognizes junior faculty (see below) with exemplary achievements in a scientific area of the AII Assembly who demonstrates clear promise for a future of sustained productivity. The Awardee will receive a recognition plaque and make a 5 minute presentation of their work to the AII Assembly at the Assembly Membership Meeting.

  • The awardee must be a Primary or Secondary AII member.
  • The awardee must be an Instructor level or Assistant Professor level (or equivalent) at the time of nomination
  • Limited to nominees that are ≤ 10 years from terminal doctoral degree (PhDs) or completion of medical fellowship training (MDs or MD/PhDs). Individual waivers of time rule will require a written statement as to the reason for waiver, and will be considered on a case by case basis.
  • Single award per year
  • No cash award


  • Nominations will come from AII Primary or Secondary Assembly members
  • Submit a completed nomination form summarizing what the nominee has contributed to impact their field thus far and why you believe they demonstrate clear promise for ongoing productivity/achievement.
  • Attach the nominee’s NIH Biosketch or equivalent research CV, limit 5 pages.
  • Previous awardees are not eligible for the same award.

Nomination for the AII Assembly Early Career Achievement Award will also mean automatic entry into the Science Innovation Center’s Rising Stars of Research Program. The two runners up to the Award (who have research in the area of basic/translational science) will be chosen for this program. The two candidates will showcase their research by giving a 15 minute talk in one of two sessions featuring “Rising Stars”. Winners of the Rising Stars of Research Program from AII, MTPI, RCMB, and RSF will present their work at the Science and Innovation Center during the ATS International Conference. Certificates will also be awarded during the session.


Past Recipients Assembly on Allergy, Immunology & Inflammation Early Career Achievement Award:

2019 - Megan Ballinger, PhD
2018 - Yvonne J. Huang, MD
2017 - Robert P. Dickson, MD
2016 - Christine M Freeman, PhD
2015 – Amit Gagger, MD, PhD
2014 - Rachel L. Zemans, MD