Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Behavioral Science and Health Services Research Lifetime Achievement Award
Assembly on Behavioral Science and Health Services Research Lifetime Achievement Award

2021 Winner - Juan Pablo Wisnivesky, MD, DrPH


Juan Pablo Wisnivesky, MD, DrPH, is the Drs. Richard and Mortimer Bader Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of General Internal Medicine, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. Dr. Wisnivesky is a pulmonary physician and health services investigator with a research interest in chronic pulmonary disease self-management, lung cancer outcomes, and disparities in care. He directs a federally funded Cancer Prevention and Control Training Program and has mentored and trained dozens of medical students, residents, fellows, and junior faculty, many whom have moved to independent research careers and academic leadership roles. Dr. Wisnivesky is an active faculty in the American Thoracic Society’s MECOR Program and is Vice Chair of the Health Equality Committee of the American Thoracic Society, and a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation.


The award will be given to an individual who has made outstanding scientific and scholarly contributions or has provided outstanding service relevant to the behavioral or social sciences, clinical epidemiology, statistics, health services research, health economics, comparative clinical efficacy and effectiveness research, patient-centered outcomes research, performance measurement, quality improvement, or implementation science. This award is to recognize individuals who have applied these methodologies to lung diseases, critical illness, or sleep disorders, and who have made outstanding contributions to the Assembly on Behavioral Sciences and Health Services Research (BSHSR) and the ATS as a whole. Awardees will be presented with a framed certificate at the ATS International Conference.


  • Nominations must include a cover letter from an assembly member describing why the award is appropriate
  • Nominee's curriculum vitae must be included
  • Has not previously received a Lifetime ATS Achievement Award
  • Nominees must a BSHSR Assembly member (primary or secondary membership)


Applicants are scored on 6 criteria using a 1-5 rating system across the following categories; summed scores provide a summary overall score:

  • Scientific and Scholarly Contributions/Products
  • Teaching/Mentoring/Educational Contributions
  • Participation in BSHSR Assembly Activities (Administrative, Committees, Workshops, etc..)
  • Participation in other ATS Activities (Administrative, Committees, Workshops, etc..)
  • Other considerations from recommendations including relevant extenuating circumstances
  • Overall impact/impression of the dossier submitted for award application

Past Recipients of the Assembly on Behavioral Science and Health Services Research Lifetime Achievement Award:

2020 - Richard Mularski, MD, ATSF
2019 - Chris Goss, MD, MSc
2018 -  Andrea J. Apter, MA, MD, MSs
2017 - Kristin A. Riekert, PhD
2016 - Frederick S. Wamboldt, MD
2015 - Jerry A. Krishnan, MD, PhD
2014 - Lynn B. Gerald, PhD, MSPH
2013- William Vollmer, PhD
2012 - David H. Au, MD, MSc
2011 - Marianna Sockrider, MD, PhD
2010 - A. Sonia Buist, MD
2009 - Bruce G. Bender, PhD
2008 - J. Randall Curtis, MD, MPH
2007 - Cynthia S. Rand, PhD
2006 - Sandra R. Wilson, PhD
2005 - David Evans, PhD
2004 - William Bailey, MD
2003 - Noreen M. Clark, PhD