Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Pulmonary Infections & Tuberculosis Mid Career Award
Assembly on Pulmonary Infections & Tuberculosis Mid Career Award

Meet the 2022 Winner: Robert Dickson, MD



Robert Dickson

Robert Dickson is an Associate Professor of Internal Medicine (Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine) and Microbiology & Immunology at the University of Michigan. Dr. Dickson serves as Deputy Director for the Weil Institute for Critical Care Research & Innovation, as Associate Chief (Research) for the Division of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, and is the Program Director of his Division’s T32 Training Program (T32HL007749, Multidisciplinary Training Program in Lung Disease). 

As a clinician, Dr. Dickson cares for critically ill patients in the University’s Critical Care Medicine Unit (CCMU) and as Medical Director of the Washtenaw County Tuberculosis Clinic. He also serves on the State of Michigan’s Tuberculous Control Program, providing consultative services to providers across the state regarding the management of patients with tuberculosis.

Dr. Dickson is a physician-scientist who studies the role of the microbiome in lung disease and critical illness. His research focuses on understanding how microbial communities in the respiratory tract and gut contribute to respiratory illness and health. He uses techniques of microbial ecology and molecular microbiology to understand how the body’s bacteria are altered by lung disease and critical illness, and how they, in turn, contribute to the pathogenesis of disease. His laboratory performs integrative translational research, spanning from molecular characterization of respiratory microbiota to animal modeling of acute lung disease to prospective trials of human subjects. Areas of clinical research interest include the acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), sepsis, and pneumonia

Dr. Dickson is a Senior Editor at Microbiome, a Specialist Editor of European Respiratory Journal, and a member of the Editorial Boards of the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine and Lancet Respiratory Medicine. His research is funded by the NIH and the European Commission. 

Dr. Dickson’s contributions to ATS and PI-TB include service on the ATS Scientific Advisory Board, the PI-TB Program Committee, and numerous guideline committees and working groups. He has chaired and spoken at multiple Postgraduate Courses, including a recurring PI-TB-sponsored Postgraduate Course (“A Hands-On Introduction to Studying the Lung Microbiome.”) He has twice been awarded the Reviewer of the Year award by the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, and serves on the journal’s Editorial Board. 


This award is given to a PI-TB member with a clear commitment to PI-TB and ATS, advancing their missions, and with a contribution(s) to the PI-TB Assembly and/or ATS in the area(s) of research, clinical care, teaching or service (may include leadership).


  • Assistant or Associate Professor, or equivalent
  • Between 10 and 20 years from having completed postdoctoral or clinical training, excluding time off for personal circumstances.
  • PI-TB Assembly Member (primary or secondary)
  • Contribution(s) to the PI-TB Assembly in basic science, translational science, epidemiology, public health and/or “bedside to the community” (implementation) research, clinical care, teaching, or service, frequently including evidence of leadership.


  • Nomination letter from sponsor(s) (2-page limit)
  • Updated candidate CV


Nominate Here


View Previous Award Recipients

2021 - James Chalmers, MD, PhD

2020 - Adithya Cattamanchi, MD

2019 - Chadi A. Hage, MD

2018 - Charles Dela Cruz, MD, PhD

2017 - Marcos I. Restrepo, MD, MSc

2016 - Scott Evans, MD

2015 - Alison M. Morris, MD, MS

2014 - Kristina A. Crothers, MD