Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Respiratory Cell & Molecular Biology Andy Tager Award for Excellence in Mentoring
Assembly on Respiratory Cell & Molecular Biology Andy Tager Award for Excellence in Mentoring

Meet the 2023 Winner: Carol Feghali-Bostwick, PhD


carol feghali-bostwick

Dr. Carol Feghali-Bostwick is a Distinguished University Professor at the Medical University of South Carolina. She currently holds the Kitty Trask Holt and SmartStateÒ Endowed Chair and serves as the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, Development, and Wellness in the College of Medicine. Dr. Feghali-Bostwick’s research interests focus on fibrosis across organs and disorders such as Systemic Sclerosis/Scleroderma and Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis. Her research has resulted in the identification of novel pro- fibrotic factors such as insulin-like growth factor (IGF)-II, IGF binding proteins (IGFBP)-3 and -5, estradiol, and IL-6, and anti-fibrotic factors such as IGFBP-4, endostatin-derived peptides, and small compounds. Dr. Feghali-Bostwick is actively engaged in mentoring junior investigators. She has directly mentored over 30 trainees. She directs the MUSC CTSA-supported TL1 program and a T32 focused on lung research. She also organizes a quarterly national mentoring meeting for new investigators in the scleroderma field. Dr. Feghali-Bostwick leads the Advancement, Recruitment, and Retention of Women (ARROW program) which provides resources and programming to support the careers of women at MUSC. In addition, she has launched #STEMLIKEAGIRL, a program that encourages girls to engage in STEM.

Dr. Feghali-Bostwick has received several awards for her mentoring including the University of Pittsburgh PACCM 2012 Mentorship Award, the MUSC 2018 Peggy Schachte Research Mentor Award, and an NIH K24 Award for mentoring in patient-oriented research. More recently, Dr. Feghali-Bostwick received the 2023 Association for Clinical and Translational Science (ACTS) Award for Contributing to the Diversity and Inclusiveness of the Translational Workforce. 



Dr. Andy Tager was a remarkable physician-scientist who combined his talent as an astute and caring physician, with that of a creative and insightful scientist, and with a lifelong dedication to helping others. Dr. Tager received multiple national awards for his discovery of bioactive lipids as potential targets of therapy in interstitial pulmonary fibrosis and distinguishing himself as one of the few to fulfill the dream of taking his work from bench to bedside. He was a selfless mentor to trainees and colleagues at his home institution, caring for the careers of those he was mentoring at least as much as his own. Less obvious to others, through his many leadership roles at ATS, Dr. Tager helped promote the professional careers ATS of members, particularly the RCMB Assembly, from all over the world. The Andy Tager Award for Excellence in Mentoring is our tribute to the brilliant, caring man, whose selfless dedication touched so many hearts, in more ways than one.


  • Have mentored 5 or more individuals who have since completed their training with the nominee
  • Must be an RCMB Assembly member (primary or secondary)
  • Nominations may be submitted by either the nominee (self-nomination) or others.
  • Nomination must include:
    • Nominee’s curriculum vitae
    • A 1-page narrative outlining the reasons for the nomination
    • One nomination letter supported by the signatures of 3-5 mentees.
  • The letter of support must:
    • Detail summary of the mentee’s current job (position/title)
    • Explain how the nominee helped them with the mentee’s career development

Scoring metric weight:

  • 1x - Scientific Contributions/Products
  • 3x- Teaching/Mentoring/Educational Contributions
  • 1x - Participation in Assembly and ATS Activities (administrative, committees, workshops etc.)
  • 1x - Overall impact/impression of dossier submitted for award application
Nominate Here


View Previous Award Recipients

2022 - Augustine Choi, MD

2021 - Steven Brody, MD, ATSF

2020 - Thomas Mariani, PhD

2019 - Timothy S. Blackwell, MD

2018 - Naftali Kaminski, MD