Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Respiratory Cell & Molecular Biology Carol Basbaum Award
Assembly on Respiratory Cell & Molecular Biology Carol Basbaum Award

Meet the 2022 Winner: Jennifer Sucre, MD



Jennifer Sucre, MD, is an Assistant Professor of Pediatrics and Cell and Developmental Biology at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. She graduated from Harvard Medical School, trained in pediatrics at Washington University in St. Louis, and completed fellowship in Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine at UCLA. Since joining the Vanderbilt faculty in 2016, she has established a research program focused on understanding the molecular mechanisms of lung development and lung disease across the lifespan with a particular focus on developing novel 4D imaging approaches to study alveologenesis and on understanding molecular drivers of bronchopulmonary dysplasia, the leading complication in survivors of preterm birth. Her clinical experience treating premature infants provides a unique perspective for studying lung development, and she has cultivated new ex vivoin vitro, and in vivo models of lung injury. Dr. Sucre has combined these models with single-cell biology and spatial transcriptomics to gain insights into cellular specialization and dynamics in the developing lung, elucidated age-regulated host susceptibility factors to SARS-CoV-2 infection, and defined previously unrecognized cell types in chronic respiratory diseases.


The RCMB has established the Carol B. Basbaum Award in recognition of outstanding scientific achievement, mentorship, and leadership potential to a junior investigator in the field of Respiratory Cell and Molecular Biology. 

This award was created in memory of Dr. Carol B. Basbaum, a brilliant scientist who had an international reputation in the area of airway biology and inflammation who passed away in 2005, in the prime of her career. She made seminal findings in airway pathobiology and was considered the preeminent scientist in the field. She was the first to describe the plasticity of airway epithelial cells and describe the role of several new molecules in the lung.  This award also celebrates the leadership and mentoring role that Carol displayed throughout her career and her selfless contributions to her trainees and colleagues.

The award will be presented at the annual RCMB Membership Meeting during the ATS International Conference.


  • The nominee must be:
    • a senior Fellow or Assistant Professor (or equivalent)
    • a member of the RCMB assembly.  Priority will be given to primary RCMB members
    • able to attend the ATS International Conference
  • The nominee cannot receive any other Travel Grant or Award within the ATS that includes Travel to the Conference.

Guidelines for Submitting a Nomination:

  • Send the nominee’s current NIH-style Biosketch
  • Send a letter of recommendation for your nominee outlining his or her qualifications.
  • No more than three supporting letters will be considered.
Letter of recommendation should address each of the following criteria:
  • Scientific Achievement
  • Mentoring
  • Leadership potential
  • Involvement with ATS and RCMB Assembly

Scoring metric weight:

  • 3x - Scientific Contributions/Products
  • 1x - Teaching/Mentoring/Educational Contributions
  • 1x - Participation in Assembly and ATS Activities (administrative, committees, workshops etc.)
  • 1x - Overall impact/impression of dossier submitted for award application

Nomination for the RCMB Carol Basbaum Award will also mean automatic entry into the Science Innovation Center’s Rising Stars of Research Program. The two runners up to the Award (who have research in the area of basic/translational science) will be chosen for this program. Previous awardees are not eligible for the same award.

The two candidates will showcase their research by giving a 15-minute talk in one of two sessions featuring “Rising Stars”. Winners of the Rising Stars of Research Program from, AII, PI-TB, RCMB, and RSF will present their work at the Science and Innovation Center during the ATS International Conference this May. Certificates will also be awarded during the session.


Nominate Here


View Previous Award Recipients

2021 -  Joshua A. Englert, MD

2020 - Benjamin Singer, MD, ATSF
2019 - Jonathan Kropski, MD
2018 - Darcy E. Wagner, PhD
2017 - Amy L. Firth, PhD
2016 - Steven K. Huang, MD
2015 - Kevin K. Kim
2014 - Mauricio Rojas, MD & Claude Jourdan Le Saux, MD, PhD
2013 - David A. Stoltz, MD, PhD
2012 - Michael B. Fessler, MD
2011 - Cara J. Gottardi, PhD
2010 - Anne-Karina T. Perl, PhD
2009 - Eric S. White, MD
2008 - Carol Feghali-Bostwick,PhD
2007 - Sorachai Srisuma, MD, PhD