Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Respiratory Structure and Function Ann Woolcock Memorial Award
Assembly on Respiratory Structure and Function Ann Woolcock Memorial Award

This award honors the life of the late Ann Woolcock of Sydney University. She was an international leader in the field of asthma in areas of epidemiology, physiology, and medicine. We are grateful for the support of GlaxoSmithKline and of the Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand for providing an endowment that will enable this award on an ongoing basis. The award is intended for all areas of research on obstructive airway disease and is not intended for either predoctoral or postdoctoral students or for well-established investigators. It is also not intended as recognition for a single project, but for overall accomplishments and future promise.

The award will consist of $500 and a plaque. The award will be presented at the ATS International Conference.

The eligibility criteria have been designed to reflect what we know to be Dr. Woolcock's priorities during her long, prolific career.


  • A young investigator beyond formal training but not yet fully established, from any country and from any ATS Assembly.
  • More than one first-authored paper in a first-rate journal.
  • Early career accomplishments and future promise.
  • Efforts in the broad area of obstructive airways disease research. This may include work at the basic, clinical, epidemiological, or other levels.
  • Nominee’s current curriculum vitae including a list of the nominee’s publications
  • Nominator’s letter of recommendation

Nomination for the RSF Ann Woolcock Memorial Award will also mean automatic entry into the Science Innovation Center’s Rising Stars of Research Program. The two runners up to the Award (who have research in the area of basic/translational science) will be chosen for this program. The two candidates will showcase their research by giving a 15-minute talk in one of two sessions featuring “Rising Stars”. Winners of the Rising Stars of Research Program from, AII, PI-TB, RCMB, and RSF will present their work at the Science and Innovation Center during the ATS International Conference this May. Certificates will also be awarded during the session.

2021 Assembly on Respiratory Structure & Function - Ann Woolcock Memorial Award

Nominator Information
Nominator Name *
Nominator Institution *
Nominator City
Nomintor State
Nominator Country
Nominator Phone # *
Nominator Email *
ATS Code of Conduct
When the Society awards an Honor, the Honor reflects the Society's judgment that the honoree's contributions to, and effect on, the field are exemplary. The Society takes into account the totality of the individual's work, professional conduct, ethics and reputation. It expects those who hold Honors to embody highly professional and ethical conduct in their work and interactions with others in the course of their careers. As part of that commitment, we ask that you include a statement in the text box below attesting, to the best of your knowledge, that the nominee's conduct has conformed to the values and expectations in the Policy on Professionalism and Ethical Conduct, and there have been no allegations against the nominee to the contrary, except to the extent you have disclosed them to ATS in your statement.

Please provide a statement attesting to the nominee's adherence to the Code of Conduct. Please provide examples, either your own or firsthand accounts from the nominee's colleague(s), of how the nominee has exhibited and maintained exemplary ethical and professional conduct throughout their career: *
Nominee Information
Nominee Name *
Nominee Institution *
Nominee City *
Nominee State *
Nominee Zip *
Nominee Country *
Nominee Phone # *
Nominee Email *
Code of Conduct
To the best of my knowledge, the nominee's conduct has conformed to the values and expectations in the Code of Conduct Policy, and there have been no allegations against the nominee to the contrary, except to the extent I have disclosed them to ATS. *
I Agree
Upload Letter of Recommendation *
Upload CV *




Past Recipients of the Assembly on Respiratory Structure and Function Ann Woolcock Memorial Award:

2020 - Corrine Kliment, MD, PhD
2019 - Matthew Drake, MD
2018 - David Chapman, BSc, PhD
2017 - Pawan Sharma, PhD (University of Technology)
2016 - Amir A. Zeki, MD (University of California, Davis)
2015 - Jeremy Alexander Hirota, BSc, PhD (University of British Columbia)
2014 - Jin-Ah Park, Ph.D. (Harvard School of Public Health)
2013 - Cindy Thamrin, PhD (Woolcock Institute of Medical Research)
2012 - Tillie-Louise Hackett, PhD, BS (St Pauls Hospital)
2011 - Graeme R. Zosky, PhD (Telethon Institute for Child Health Research)
2010 - Reinoud Gosens, PhD (University of Groningen)
2009 - Deepak Deshpande, D.V.M., PhD (University of Maryland Baltimore)
2008 - David W Kaczka, MD, PhD (John Hopkins Hospital)
2007 - Janette Burgess, PhD (University of Sydney)
2006 - Steven An, PhD (Johns Hopkins University)
2005 - Parameswaran Krishnan Nair, MD, PhD (McMaster University)
2004 - Julia K.L. Walker, PhD (Duke University)
2003 - John Fuller Hunt, MD (University of Virginia)
2002 - Debra Turner, PhD (University of Western Australia)