Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Sleep and Respiratory Neurobiology James B. Skatrud New Investigator Award
Assembly on Sleep and Respiratory Neurobiology James B. Skatrud New Investigator Award

The SRN New Investigator Award is intended to recognize the career accomplishments to date and future promise of a new investigator working in the broad area of respiratory neurobiology and sleep, which includes control of breathing, sleep mechanisms, and sleep-disordered breathing. This may include work at the basic, clinical, epidemiological or other levels.

This award is intended to recognize a new investigator who is beyond formal training, but not yet fully established. It is not intended for well-established investigators. It is also not intended as recognition for a single project, but rather for overall accomplishments and future potential. There are no citizenship requirements for this award.


  • Applicants cannot be at a rank higher than Assistant Professor (or equivalent).
  • D. or other non-physician scientists should be no more than seven years beyond the completion of their doctoral or terminal research degree at the time of application.
  • Physician-scientists (M.D.) should be no more than seven years beyond clinical training (residency, fellowship) at the time of application
  • Of note, exceptions may be made for candidates who have taken significant time away from their academic career; however, this must be pre-emptively discussed with the Planning Committee Chair.
  • Nominees should have more than one first-authored paper that is considered to advance the science of respiratory neurobiology or sleep.
  • The nominee should be an ATS member.
  • Nominations for this award must also be submitted by an ATS member (from any Assembly).
  • The awardee must attend the ATS International Conference.

Application Submission Documents

  • A summary of the candidate’s accomplishments in the attached biosketch format.
  • A statement by the candidate of his/her career goals and the potential of his/her research to advance the field of sleep and respiratory neurobiology (maximum 1 page).
  • Nominating letter by a mentor (or mentors).

The submissions will be evaluated and ranked by the SRN Assembly Executive and Planning Committee, and the awardee will be announced at the SRN Assembly Meeting at the ATS International Conference. The awardee will be expected to make a short presentation about their research at the SRN Assembly Membership Meeting. The awardee will receive a check for $1,000.00 and a framed certificate.


Past Recipients of the Assembly on Sleep and Respiratory Neurobiology James B. Skatrud New Investigator Award

2019 - Andrew W. Varga, MD, PhD
2018 - Camilla Hoyos, BSc (Hons), MPH, PhD

2017 - Jessie P. Bakker, PhD
2016 - Bradley A. Edwards, PhD

2015 - Ching Li Chai-Coetzer, MBBS, FRACP, PhD
2014 - Robert L. Owens, MD

2013 - Jonathan C. Jun, MD
2012 - Silke Ryan, MD
2011 - Luciano Drager, MD
2010 - Michael Arzt, MD
2009 - Amy Jordan, MD
2008 - Sanjay Patel, MD, MS
2007 - Malcolm Kohler, MD
2006 - Vsevold Polotsky, PhD
2005 - Atul Malhotra, MD