Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Sleep and Respiratory Neurobiology Lifetime Achievement Award
Assembly on Sleep and Respiratory Neurobiology Lifetime Achievement Award

Meet the 2022 Winner: Susan Redline, MD, MPH

Jason Bates 2022

Susan Redline, MD, MPH is the Peter C. Farrell Professor of Sleep Medicine at Harvard Medical School, Professor of Epidemiology at Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health, and Director of the Programs in Sleep and Cardiovascular Medicine and Sleep Medicine Epidemiology at Brigham and Women's Hospital. Dr. Redline has led epidemiological studies and clinical trials designed to 1) elucidate the etiologies of sleep disorders in both adults and children, including the role of genetic and early life developmental factors; and 2) understand the cardiovascular and other health outcomes of sleep disorders and the role of sleep interventions in improving health and well-being. She leads the Sleep Reading Center for a number of major multicenter studies and founded and co-directs the National Sleep Research Resource, an international sleep data sharing repository that has made research sleep data easily searchable and accessible, supporting community access to data and to a suite of open source tools. She also supports a sleep apnea patient-focused virtual community and works actively with patient advocates to improve patient education and support. She has co-authored over 650 manuscripts and has served the sleep medicine community in many ways, including as a past Board member of the Sleep Research Society and American Academy of Sleep Medicine.


The award will be given to honor the career of an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the field of sleep or respiratory neurobiology in terms of both scientific and scholarly advances as well as mentoring, teaching, and advocacy to advance public health. This award is given to a candidate at the late Associate Professor, Professor, or Professor Emeritus level (or equivalent) who is recognized for achievement in scholarship over the course of his/her entire career. Contributions to the SRN Assembly in the form of committee participation or leadership, and/or otherwise advancing the SRN mission will be viewed favorably. Awardees will make a short presentation about their career and receive a plaque at the Assembly Dinner during the ATS International Conference.


  • Nominations must include a cover letter (2 pages maximum) from an SRN Assembly member (primary or secondary membership) describing why the award is appropriate
  • Nominee's curriculum vitae must be included
  • Has not previously received an ATS Lifetime Achievement Award

    *Nominees do not have to be current ATS members, but are expected to attend the SRN Assembly Reception at the ATS International Conference to receive the award


Nominate Here


View Previous Award Recipients

2021 - Colin Sullivan, MD, PhD

2020 - Kingman P. Strohl, MD

2019 - Allan I. Pack, MBChB, PhD