Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Thoracic Oncology Assembly Early Career Achievement Award
Thoracic Oncology Assembly Early Career Achievement Award

The award will be given to the individual who has made outstanding scientific contributions in clinical, translational, or laboratory-based research relevant to the field of thoracic oncology. This award is to recognize individuals who have made these contributions early in his or her careers. Awardees will be presented with a framed certificate at the annual TO Membership Meeting during the ATS International Conference.


  • Must be at the Assistant Professor level or at an equivalent rank in a non-academic institution

  • Must be a TOA primary member

  • Must not have received a similar early career award from TOA or another ATS Assembly

  • The nomination package must include a 1-page letter from a member of the assembly describing the candidate’s contributions and why the award is appropriate

  • Limited to nominees that are ≤ 10 years from terminal doctoral degree (PhDs) or completion of medical fellowship training (MDs or MD/PhDs).     


Applicant are scored on 2 criteria using a rating system across the following categories. 

  • Scientific Contributions/Products

  • Participation in Assembly and ATS Activities (administrative, committees, workshops etc.)


Past Recipients of the Assembly on Thoracic Oncology Early Career Achievement Award:

2020 -  Matthew Triplette, MD, MPH
2019 - Catherine R. Sears, MD
2018 - Viswam S. Nair, MSCR, MD
2017 - Seyed Javad Moghaddam, MD & Rajkumar Savai, PhD
2016 - Alex Balekian, MD
2015 - Nichole T. Tanner, MD