ATS Scholarships

HomeProfessionalsCareer DevelopmentATS Scholarships ▶ Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Awardees
Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Awardees

2020 Awardee

The Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award is named in honor of Morton Ziskind, MD, a highly respected clinician and researcher from Tulane University who died in 1979. Dr. Ziskind, a long-time ATS member, was known for nurturing fellows and helping them become outstanding clinicians and clinical researchers. Learn more about the award here.

The ATS is pleased to recognize Bruno Ferreyro, MD as the recipient of the 2020 Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award

Bruno Ferreyro, MD

Bruno Ferreyro, MD is a Fellow in the Oncologic Critical Care Program at the University Health Network/Sinai Health System and a PhD candidate at the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation at the University of Toronto, Canada.

Both his clinical and research interests relate to the care of critically ill immunocompromised patients. “During my PhD training I will describe the epidemiology patterns and outcomes of critical illness in patients with hematologic malignancies… Overall, this research will answer key knowledge gaps in the intersection of malignant hematology and critical care medicine with direct translation to patient-centered outcomes.”

Past Receipients:

  • 2019 Awardees: Ashraf Fawzy, MD, MPH, Kelly M. Pennington, MD, and Andrew J. Synn, MD
  • 2018 Awardees: Takashi Hirama, MD, PhD, William Parker, MD, and Gwen Thompson, MD, MPH
  • 2017 Awardees: Erin DeMartino, MD, and Jatinder Juss, MD, PhD
  • 2016 Awardees: Rachel Putman, MD, and Michael E. Wilson, MD
  • 2015 Awardees: Ann C. Long, MD, MS, and Bhakti Patel, MD
  • 2014 Awardee: Michelle Biehl, MD